top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBridget

A Junco Landed on my Window


The window the Junco landed on and the Finch from the oracle deck Bird Cards.

I had no need to pull a card today because the Junco came to me.


While still sluggish from a bad nights sleep I was by the kitchen sink making Zach's oatmeal. To my right a Junco landed on the top right corner of the window. There is no ledge. The bird had grabbed the screen to rest there a moment. It felt quite special because I have never seen a bird do this before and it was right by my head.


I looked in the Bird Cards booklet to see if there was a Junco card. It seemed like a long shot. Junco is specific. I was right. No Junco in the deck but there is a Finch card. I thought, "Finches are similar to Juncos right? Aren't they often flying around each other?". Before pulling out the cards I did a quick internet search and it turns out a Junco is a type of American Finch. This was confirmation that the finch card would have a message for me. So I went to get the Finch card from the deck. I tipped the deck out of the box and the Finch card was right on top. The first thing I saw. Whoah. That was definitely a sign that I should pay attention to the Junco and the Finch.


The Finch is about community and flock consciousness. The write up asks about the community your are in. Do you have a dark side that is harming the whole? Or is someone else's dark side affecting you? Does something need to change? Leave the community for a new phase of life? Or stay and work through the issues? Then it ends with "Your soul knows the answer". I'm a stay at home mom right now. Really, my only community is my family. But perhaps the message is that I need to create another community? I have been wanting to start a meet-up group to talk about woowoo things. I have certain people in my life that I share conversations with on such topics. But it is always one-on-one. I would like to bring these people together (some already know each other) and talk about the things we are working on, experiencing and exploring. Perhaps this is what my message is.


According to the artist's notes the rainbows on the card symbolize "a new cycle" and a bright light is created where people's rainbows connect. More community symbolism. Creation of greater things can arise because of connection with others.

"I ask the overlighting consciousness of the finch to help me perceive my true purpose in this community."

The finches in the card image are each sitting on a rhodonite stone. According to The Book of Stones by Robert Simmons and Naisha Ahsian, rhodonite is about, "discovering and developing hidden talents, compassion, love, generosity [and] altruism". The stone helps in developing your skills so that you can use them for the good of others. And more than just skills it helps clarify your purpose. The stone's pink color is for love, but in this case outward facing love. This fits with the ideas of community.


Online I found some articles specifically about Junco energy (HEP6, ShamanicJourney). The Junco is a messenger from above and helps sing truth. Its presence is a reminder to be open-minded and asses the situation you are in. What are you voicing? Is it your truth? Junco is also a symbol for new pursuits, change and personal expansion. This ties back to rhodonite's properties. Perhaps the message of the Junco for me today is that I am on the right path towards my highest good. A reminder that my guides and my higher self are with me and will aid me in my pursuits. That I have connection to the divine, just as everyone does, and I just need to be open-minded and to listen.


There are many ways we can receive messages from higher beings. Using tools such as cards, pendulums or writing is one way. But if we pay attention messages can come in unexpected ways like a bird grabbing a window screen to perch near your head.


a bush with yellow and green leaves and purple berries.
A bush from my walk today


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page