top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBridget

Slow Fashion October WK 1: What's Your Look?


a moodboard with grey, silver, black, cream, blue and yellow.
my moodboard

I am participating in Karen Templer's Slow Fashion October. Each Monday of October Karen posts on her blog (Fringe Association) an action item and a discussion prompt. For week one the action item is to make a mood board (👆) of looks that are "so you". This is to help you make better informed wardrobe decisions to slow the cycle of clothing waste. Below are my answers to her discussion prompts.


Do you have a color palette?

mains: Cream/white, greys, black, medium–dark blues

pops: yellow, soft pink, greens, red


Whose style inspires you; do you have a muse or icon?

I appreciate people who's style is so genuine to themselves that their whole being melds together with ease. There is style inspiration everywhere. Around town I always see well dressed asian grandmothers. They tend to have a style that is classic, modest and functional. I like California style because it is chic and laid-back (think Jesse Kamm, Bo Carney, Jeana Sohn, Helen Yu Kuo & Marni, Sissy Sainte Marie, Virginia Calderón). I like farmers' clothing because you know all the fabric and materials they wear must be very durable and the cuts comfortable (picture an English gardener or dairy farmer). I really like the look of worn-out but durable cotton. And then there is sci-fi. There are always at least a few pieces in my closet that remind me of a favorite story or character: a high-structured collar, a long trench, boots with space-like details. Other people wouldn't necessarily spot these things as sci-fi-y but these little details indulge my whimsy.


A woman in a bright pink dress stepping off a curb, a woman standing in her home wearing all black, a male gardener in his garden wearing cotton in different blues, mother and daughter in an art museum wearing trench coats
(From left to right: Virginia Calderón, Sissy Sainte Marie, Monty Don, Marni & Helen Yu Kuo)


Is there a brand you’re always drawn to, for their clothes and/or how they put them together? Why?

Eileen Fisher—boxy cuts, neutrals, quality fabric, ethical construction

Bassike—great basic tees, re-thought classics, comfortability, quality, ethical construction

Simon Miller—comfortability, pop-y color, quality

Jil Sander—elegant, playful, utility, quirky-classics, quality 

Pacific Cotton by Bryn Walker—thick cotton, boxy cuts, quality


What shapes and styles of garments work best for you, your life and your body?

High-waists (so grateful for this trend), straight-leg, wide-leg, skinny, ankle length pants, tops that sit near my hip bones or fall mid-thigh (tunic-ish), long coats, cropped coats, boots, sneakers, platforms, pencil/straight skirts, crew necks, boxy-cropped cuts, pull-over sweaters.


What are your clothing pet peeves? (lengths, necklines, sleeve types …)

Fake pockets. Functionality should be real.


What is your favorite garment or outfit (right now or always) and why?

I just recently found a chartreuse leather coach bag (it doesn't look like coach at all) at a consignment shop. It is a cross between a crossbody and a hobo. I like that it adds a pop of color happiness to my usual neutrals. I'm always happy when fall comes around because I can wear my favorite sweaters and coats. I have two over-sized black crewneck sweaters i love: a cotton one from Bassike and a wool/cashmere one from Proenza Schouler. Both feel very chic but are also uber comfortable. I have multiple trench coats that I love but one favorite is by Totokaelo. It is a simple black canvas with a zipper closure and covering buttons, no tie waist it just hangs loose and adjustable straps on the wrists. It is very simple and classic but the zipper adds a sporty-ness that I like.


What is the image you would like to project with your clothing?

Ease and elegance, with a touch of quirkiness


Can you describe your style in five adjectives?

Elegant, understated, comfortable, straight, monochrome, chunky


What showed up in your mood board that surprised you?

…nothing… 😂

My core tastes have not changed a lot over time. I also spend a lot of time thinking about these sort of things so no surprises.


What’s an example of something you own and love (had to have!) but never wear, and why not?

This block-color, super chunky knit sweater by Hache. Its bulkiness makes it less practical for daily use but it is so cozy and I love how it looks. I bought it last winter (close to spring). I didn’t wear it a lot because I was in school and prefer to wear under-the-rader clothes in that setting. Also warm weather came quickly after I bought it. This fall I am again not getting a lot of use out of it because I am pregnant which has changed my day-to-day clothing choices. But I am not ready to remove the sweater from my wardrobe because I think it has a valid place in my closet. This piece may not currently be a daily wear but I believe it has a future of loving use ahead of it.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page