top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBridget

The Tangles of Fear


Where does fear come from? Does it have a use? If a thought of fear pops in your head you can’t really fight it. But you also don’t have to indulge it. Let it pass. I do not believe fear serves us. Even if it might always be there, it does not need to drive us. I would much rather be driven by joy and excitement than fear and worry. Joy opens us and lifts us, while fear shrinks and constricts us. 


Last night I was twisted up in the tangles of fear. Six months ago I was so ready for maternity leave and now that it is almost here it is triggering some anxiety. This is exacerbated by being pregnant (hormones 😭😂) but it is still a huge transition period. There is the obvious one of becoming a mother. The other is that I am starting a completely new personal path. I do not know what is ahead for me. I will not be returning to my old job (so goodbye income). Most of my fears are wrapped up in the ending of my job. My career goals have totally shifted, but have not yet found a new focus. My future is open. But with the excitement that comes with this opportunity is also the urge to solve the riddle. As it cannot be “solved” over night, fear creeps in.


fear of loosing my income

fear of being a burden

fear of being taken advantage of

fear of being stuck

fear of being undervalued

fear of being replaced

fear of being forgotten


Have there been stages in your life when you felt fear more strongly?

How do you combat fear and worry?


Luckily my husband pulled me out of the fear woes last night (Thank you 🙏). I was struggling to shake the negative mindset I was in.


Another way I combat fear and worry is to visualize a pink, yellow or white aura of energy around my chest. An aura of love and positivity. Like an energetic hug. Lately I’ve been picturing more white. I picture goodness radiating out from my body and into my life. I don’t just see it in my minds eye I focus on feeling it too. I used to do this more often especially when dealing with difficult customers. I want to start using this practice more regularly again.


Clearing negative thoughts has not been as easy lately though. I have not been able to effectively visualize positive energy. So for now I will write some Marie Manuchehri "What if's" to counteract my thoughts of fear.


What if income is on its way to me in new and unexpected ways?

What if I am simply an uplifting joy to everyone in my life?

What if I am given exactly what I need?

What if I have momentum and openness to begin new things?

What if I am valued by everyone whose lives I have touched?

What if I am my own unique gem and cannot be replaced?

What if I will always be remembered?


This is a drawing from Camilla Engstrom. She calls this character Husa. It brings me joy to see how happy and care-free Husa looks.


Cartoon of a naked lady wearing a crown and skipping with her arms up
Husa by Camilla Engstrom

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page